Order of the Arrow

The Order of the Arrow is Scouting's National Honor Society

The purpose of the Order of the Arrow is fourfold:

  • To recognize those Scout campers who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives 
  • To develop and maintain camping traditions and spirit 
  • To promote Scout camping 
  • To crystallize the Scout habit of helpfulness into a life purpose of leadership in cheerful service to others

The Order of the Arrow (OA) was founded by Dr. E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson in 1915 at the Treasure Island Camp of the Philadelphia Council, Boy Scouts of America. It became an official program experiment in 1922 and was approved as part of the Scouting program in 1934.

In 1948 the OA, recognized as the BSA's national brotherhood of honor campers, became an official part of the national camping program of the Boy Scouts of America.

Tutelo Lodge

The Tutelo Lodge Order of the Arrow is the regional honor society of the Boy Scouts of America, within the Blue Ridge Mountains Council area. Tutelo Lodge serves 21 counties and 8 cities in Central, Southwest, and Southside Virginia. http://tutelo161.org/

Order of the Arrow - National Organization

The Order of the Arrow, Boy Scouts of America is the National Organization of Scouting’s Honor Society. http://oa-bsa.org/