Picture 1

Claytor Lake Aquatics Base is a provisional camp for Scouts at least 13 years of age. It is the Reservation headquarters for advanced fun in the water. Sitting on the edge of Claytor Lake, this camp gives participants huge opportunities to enjoy the lake. The Aquatics Base offers SCUBA and Wakeboarding high adventure camps. 

Here you'll experience the best aquatic education and experiences in Scouting.

This is the newest base camp on the Blue Ridge Scout Reservation, offering attendees comfortable cabins and modern shower facilities.  Meals are served in the air-conditioned dining hall.

When not in the water, Scouts can experience the climbing tower for a unique challenge.

Click here for Promotional Book for more information.

More information can be found in the Leaders' Guide. Information on all the programs can be found here - each program does not have a separate guide. For more information, click on the camps hosted by CLAB listed below.

Claytor Lake Aquatics Base Map 

From Our Blog

Tuesday, October 15, 2019
The Hornaday Awards are the premier conservation awards in Scouting. The Hornaday Silver Medal is the rarest award in Scouting, with only a half a dozen awarded nationally each year compared to 50,000 Eagle ranks. Scouts who wish to earn a Hornaday award earn Merit Badges or Venturing Ranger award requirements and complete several large conservation projects. These projects are meant for the Scout to become an expert in conservation and are held to the standard of a conservation professional. Projects are typically three times longer and much more complicated than Eagle projects and generally take six months to a year to complete. The results are rewarding; Scouts become true conservation professionals and have earned an achievement that is truly distinguished.
Friday, November 01, 2019
We hope you are prepared to experience Claytor Lake Aquatics Base in a completely different way! Camp Nordic Eagle is dedicated to providing a one-of-a-kind camping experience in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains, with emphasis on Eagle required merit badges and merit badges that you can’t find anywhere else!

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Boy Scout age range?
Youth can join a Boy Scout troop who have earned the Arrow of Light rank and are at least 10 years old, or have completed the fifth grade and are at least 10, or who are 11, but not yet 18 years old.
Is Scouting safe?
Yes. Programs are designed to follow a strict set of rules and policies that can be found in the Guide to Safe Scouting. Every registered adult in Scouting is required to complete a Youth Protection training course and a criminal background check.
What supplies does a Boy Scout need?
The single most important piece of equipment a Boy Scout needs is the Boy Scout Handbook.